Elder Law Week 4

((Eldest Law Brother: Sorry I didn’t get this up til just now, I was actually in thailand for the last week and a half visiting My mission. ^.^ Here is last week’s letter, and this weeks will be up in a sec with Pictures!))

Mother! It is your day! Your day to be HAPPY! =D
The mission president has allowed everyone to write their Mother’s today since we can’t call.

I thought it would be cool for me to write you the “Mother, I love you” song in Spanish. It doesn’t quite flow like the english version, but it’s still a great song.

Madre, te amo
1. Madre, te amo con toda el alma. Del cielo Dios me ha mandado a ti. Cuando estás cerca escuchar quieto tus dulces cantos de amor para mí.
2. Madre, te amo con toda el alma. Quiero ayudarte porque te amo, sí. Obedecerte quiero y verte siempre felíz porque te amo a ti.
Madre, te amo, te quiero a ti.

The song means a lot more in Spanish that it does in English, I think. The word choise in Spanish is very particular. It’s using only the most friendly, personal grammar; The kind of words you’d use only when talking to a very close family member, someone you love dearly.

Mother’s Day is about as big here as it is in the US. Yesterday when we went procelyting in Central Lima, there were sales and other fancy stuff going on for the holiday. Oh, and there was this fancy thing going on in the main square with a whole ton of soldiers performing a march. I suppose it was for the special holiday. I’ll tell you more of my experience in the city on Wednesday, but for now I’ll say is was way awesome. At first, honestly, I was really scared. Legitly scared to go out and speak Spanish to these people in a different county, different cultre, different language. But as we got out there, I grew to love it more and more and more. I could really only bear my testimony in Spanish, but I tried to covey as much love as I could in the few words I could speak. We only visited less active members. I can’t wait until next week when we get to go trackting and give people Book of Mormons.

Thank you for everything you do Mom! You’ve taught me so much. Thanks for showing me how to iron shirts right before I left, it has helps knowing how to iron. 😀

THANK YOU FOR TEACHING ME VIOLIN! I play the violin all the time down here. President Cardon’s wife teaches violin, and let’s me borrow her student violin all the time for musical numbers in various meetings. I never thought I’d be sharing my talent as much as I do. I give my credit to you. 🙂

Good luck with your calling in the ward. I can only imagine how much fun it will be for you getting to know all the sisters personally. The Lord is very wise in calling you to this position, and I’m sure he’s expecting excellent work from you. 🙂

I’ve got to go. My time is up. Love you Mom!
I’ll write on Wednesday, AND, I’ll email pictures. YAY! YAYAYAYAYAYAY!!!
Did you have the Mother’s day breakfast this morning? Those were always the best. 🙂

I love you Mom!
-Andrew

Leave a comment