Week 9

¡Mi Familia!
I have arived safely in Chiclayo! I left the CCM with several other Latino missionaries who are serving in the Chiclayo mission.
My first area is (drum roll): Reque. It’s a small city just south of Chiclayo: deserty area, and very humid. I will serve here with my new companion. My Companion is: (drum roll) Elder Almanza. He’s Latino. He knows a little english. And he knows A LOT of Spanish. He is from Puno, Peru. This is his final transfer – his final 6 weeks. I am his first trainee, and it is my first six weeks in the field. So, it’s interesting. My companion is great: He works hard and helps me a lot. 
There are two other Elders in this area: Elder Worsham, who’s been out since Christmas, and his Latino companion.
 
HAPPY FATHER’S DAY DAD! You’re an amazing father, and I’ve learned SO MUCH from you! And I still learn from you! You’re example is amazing. I love you SO MUCH!
Those nights that I went up stairs and watched TV with you, or exercized – I’m happy we did that. Same with having lunch with you in Novarad and talking about my mission, or the Temple, or other things. I love you so much Dad. You deserve Kudos.
Father’s day is pretty big down here, it seems. There were signs all over the place in Lima abut ‘Papá,’ and his children. There were tons of parties last night, and it was kinda hard to contact anyone because they were pretty much all drunk. 😛
How were your first few weeks in the field? It’s nothing I really expected – nothing someone can Really plan for. It’s something you just have to do: Devoting your entire life for two years to God. It’s definately a change of pace.
 
I have put the bed-bug blocking protector on my pillow case, but not the matrice. It shouldn’t be a problem in this area, I was told.
The mission president is great! He knows some good English so it was a lot easier to talk with him. They did take a picture of me with him, but I don’t know if they’ll email it to you.
 
SO, we’ve got a baptism coming up on Saturday. A woman named Julia was taught by the missionaries before we arived and had set the date just before we got here. We’ve been checking up on her and things seem good, except that she didn’t attend church yesterday. She traveled to Trujillo.
There’s a man named Humberto that wants to be baptized. He’s been taught the lessons as well, but before he get’s baptized, he wants the aproval of his daughter. Kinda interesting. He hasen’t talked with her yet, so it’s just waiting for them to talk and then we can set a date for him to be baptized.
 
Sounds like things are going fun at home! I’m sorry to hear Matthew got sick. Get better Matthew! Going to Park City sounds fun as well!
How are TJ’s and Robyn’s scripture study going? Are they reading each night? Is Robyn reading the Book of Mormon when she feels sad, or misses me or Jeffrey? Same with TJ? I know it will help. While I was in Provo, one of the apostles that spoke gave us a promise: That if you read the book of mormon, it will fill you with it’s light and help turn any sad day into a better one. I know this is true. The book of Mormon is amazing, and it is the Word of God.
 
I Love LOVE LOVE you family! Love you TJ and Robyn and Matthew, Dad, Mom and Jeffrey!
Happy Father’s day Dad!
-Elder Law
 
P.S.
Do you still need a scripture for my plaque? Tell me if you do.
Leave a Reply

